2020 National Championship

The 121st running of the National Championship will begin on Monday, February 10, 2020.  The drawing for the order of running will be held at 7:00 pm on Saturday, February 8, 2020 in Bryan Hall on the Ames Plantation. The 26th Annual Winner of the Joe H. Hurdle Top Dog Award will be announced during the drawing ceremonies.

Judging this year's championship will be Jadie Rayfield, Mount Pleasant, SC, Tom Shenker, Hurtsboro, AL and Dr. Stan Wint, Gardner, KS. Judging will be conducted based on the Amesian Standard.  This is the standard and/or rule developed by Mr. Hobart Ames for the National Championship.  Mr. Ames judged the National for over 20 years and the same standard has been applied throughout time.  The Judges today continue to use this measure for selecting the “National Champion” each year.

Serving as reporter this year is William Smith, Moscow, TN.

For detailed coverage of the 2020 National Championship visit the links on the left side of this page.